
A restraining order can . . .
• Be obtained for either domestic abuse or

harassment.
• Order your partner to have no contact with

you or to have no violent contact with you.
• Give the police a chance to make an arrest if

the order is violated.
• Be used any place in Wisconsin.
• Be valid for up to 4 years.
• Be obtained in the Probate Office, Room 1005,

Dane County Courthouse.
• Be obtained free of charge.
• The Domestic Abuse Restraining Order is

free of charge. There may be a fee for a
Harassment Restraining Order.

If you would like assistance in filing a restraining
order, you can contact a legal advocate at
251-1237.
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This chart shows some of the tactics
physically violent persons use to gain
power and control over others.

Has your partner ever . . .

• Pushed, slapped, grabbed, choked or
kicked you?

• Smashed or thrown things?
• Made you afraid just by looking at you?
• Driven recklessly to scare you?
• Put you down, humiliated you or

called you names?
• Made threats to hurt you?
• Forced you to have sexual contact

even though you didn't want to?
• Told you the abuse was your fault?

If these things are happening in your
relationship, we may be able to help!

Where to turn for help . . .
• District Attorney/Domestic Violence Program:

266-9003.

• Domestic Abuse Intervention Services
251-4445. (24-Hour Helpline)
1-800-747-4045 (Toll Free)
Legal Advocacy:  251-1237

• Family Services – Alternatives to Aggression:
252-1325

~ abusers' treatment
~ women's and children's therapy

• Midwest Domestic Violence Resource
Center:  231-3300

~ abusers' treatment
~ services for victims and children

• Respite Center:  244-5700
~ short-term childcare for parents under

stress or in crisis

• Rainbow Project:  255-7356
~ counseling for children

• Dane County Crisis Intervention:  231-2345
~ suicide intervention

Dane County
District Attorney's Office

266-9003

DANE COUNTY
DISTRICT ATTORNEY’S OFFICE

215 South Hamilton St., Room 3000
Madison, WI 53703-3299



Can I have the charges
dropped?

As the victim of a domestic violence
offense you are not responsible for
pressing charges, the State is. Therefore,
you cannot have the charges dropped.
However, you are encouraged to contact
a Domestic Violence Specialist in the
District Attorney's office to have your
feelings heard.

When will my partner go to
court?

If your partner does not bail out of jail, an
initial appearance will generally occur the
following afternoon. In Dane County,
initial appearances are held in Room
1162-2 of the Public Safety Building, 115
W. Doty St., Madison. Bail and conditions
of bail are set at the initial appearance.
Conditions of bail often include a no
contact order. Your partner will also be
given notice of his/her next court date.

What happens if the police
are called?

Because Wisconsin has a mandatory
arrest law, your partner* will be arrested
if the responding officer believes that a
crime has been committed (battery,
disorderly conduct, etc.). An arrest will
occur even if you did not contact the
police or if you do not want the arrest to
occur.

*"Partner" is used to refer to anyone who
is arrested in a family/roommate dispute.

What happens after my
partner has been arrested?

He/She will be taken to jail. The police
officer(s) should explain release/bail
procedures and details of a 72-hour no
contact condition to you.

Charges will be referred to the District
Attorney's office for review. Final charges
may not be the same as the arrest
charge(s).

What will happen? Will my
partner go to jail?

The consequences of domestic violence
offenses depend on many things – your
partner's criminal history, the seriousness
of the offense, your partner's attitude
about the offense and your feelings
about the case. Often consequences
include treatment, such as treatment for
violence or treatment for alcohol/drug
abuse.

If your partner has been arrested for a
domestic offense you are encouraged to
contact a Domestic Violence Specialist
to communicate your opinion about what
consequences would be most helpful to
you. Your opinions are taken very
seriously, and the outcome of the case
may be affected by your response.

What does a Domestic
Violence Specialist do?

Domestic Violence Specialists can assist
you in a number of ways. They can
provide you with an opportunity to voice
your needs and concerns regarding the
case. They can inform you of decisions
made by the District Attorney's office and
can answer any questions you may have
about the legal system. You can contact
a specialist by calling 266-9003.

What is a no contact order?

As a condition of bail, a no contact order
means that your partner can have no
contact with you while the case is pend-
ing. No contact means that your partner
cannot see you, write to you, call you, or
leave messages for you. You may also
wish to obtain a restraining order (see
back panel).


